Board of Education‎ > ‎Board Bits‎ > ‎

April 2015

The Botkins Board of Education met in regular session on April  14, 2015. The Board took the following actions:

*      Heard that we received approximately $100,000 in federal monies. We discussed how funds are spent, special education salaries, OT/PT/speech, equipment and supplies.

*      Heard from public that they would like to see math materials professional development ADHD/differentiation.

*      Heard a presentation on the NHS trip to Kentucky for the service project.

*      Approved the minutes of the March 11, 2015, Board of Education regular meeting.

*      Approved the Treasurer’s report by fund, the Investment report and cash balance report as presented.

*      Moved to participate in Ohio School Comp for the 2016 Workers’ Compensation Group Rating Program. The third party administration is CompManagement. Enrollment fee is $290.

*      Moved to accept the donation of $22,607.00 from the Botkins Athletic Booster for track equipment and $500 anonymous donation for the Drama Club.

*      Amended the Certificate of Estimated Resources, make supplemental Appropriations and modify appropriations as presented due to donation for track fund and RttT budget for computers.

*      Approved the Then and Now purchase orders.

*      Heard from the following committees:

o   Heard update on building project from the Building and Maintenance.

o   The Foundation committee is to meet May 3 @ 7:00 PM.

*      Approved the list below of graduates of the Class of 2015 as presented,  pending completion of all necessary courses:

Alex Michael Adams                       Reid Anthony Manger

Kaylee Sue Bailey                             Samuel Richard McCafferty

Kaitlyn Marie Barhorst                   Cheyenne Nichole McGough

Layla Ann Bogart                              Kyle Robert Moellenkamp

Brooke Nicole Bornhorst              Caleb Richard Oren

Whitney Marie Bornhorst            Trevor Joseph Ott

Mackenzie Kay Brown                   Jacob Colby Place

Lucas Alfred Buehler                      Sarah Rose Platfoot

Jocelyn Elizabeth Counts              Malia Christine Prout

Eric Benjamin Egbert                      Lakota Sioux Running Hawk

Brian Michael Fisher                       Kaitlyn Jean Schmerge

Josie Ann Frey                                   Bailey Marie Schnippel

Mitchell Robert Goubeaux          Josephine Dalhya Steinke

Phillip Joseph Greve                       Mitchell Andrew Stone

Allison Renee Guckes                    Grace Elizabeth VanBrocklin

Jamie Deanna Handshoe              Hannah Marie VanBrocklin

John-Michal Alton Haught            Hannah Maire Wagner

Taylor Elizabeth Hittepole            Tayler Marie Weatherhead

Christian David Hoskins                 Garrett David Wilcox

Austin Ray Jones                              Corinne Mallory Woodruff

Kenneth Joseph Kramer II           Daniel Ray Carl Wyan

Brandi Lynn Landreth                     Seph Allen Zimpfer

*      Moved that Botkins Local School, grades 7-12, become a member of OHSAA for the 2015-16 school year.

*      Adopted the 7-12 handbook for the 2015-16 school year as presented.

*      Adopted the K-6 handbook for the 2015-16 school year as presented.

*      Approved the Classified handbook for the 2015-16 school year as presented.

*      Approved the Faculty handbook for the 2015-16 school year as presented.

*      Approved the changes to the Wellness Policy for 2015-16 school year as presented.

*      Adopted changes to the Board policy manual as presented.

*      Approved the following overnight trips as listed:

o   FFA Camp – sometime in June

o   Boys Basketball Camp – June 15th and 16th at University of Findlay

o   Girls Basketball Camp – June 18th and 19th at Wilmington College

*      Adopted the resolution for the use of the school grounds for the Carousel as presented.

*      Accepted the resignation of Rita Monnin as of June 30, 2015.

*      Hired Kendra Berryman as a substitute teacher.

*      Hired the personnel listed below as summer tutors and coordinators per salary schedule:

o   Betsy Spence                     Summer tutor

o   Becky Walters                   Summer tutor

o   Jennifer VanSkyock        Summer tutor

o   Jason Christman               Summer tutor

o   Leyna Bogart                      Summer tutor

o   Adam Fullenkamp           OGT and summer tutor

o   Andrea Koenig                  OGT and summer tutor

o   Laura Mack                         OGT tutor

o   Janine Schmitmeyer       OGT tutor

o   Gina Rogers                        Summer school coordinator (EL/JH/HS)

o   Jason Christman               Summer school coordinator (EL/JH/HS)

o   Krista Meyer                      OGT summer tutoring coordinator

o   Lynn Smallwood                               Summer speech

*      Approved the Indoor Environemental Quality Management Plan.

*      Hired the students below as season summer help:

o   Dani Schneider

o   Jared Goubeaux

o   Valerie Christman

o   Joshua Miller

o   Nolan Greve

*      Hired Michaela Ary at minimum wage for custodial duties as needed.