July 2011

The Botkins Board of Education met in special session on July 15, 2011.

The Board took the following actions:

*Approved minutes of June 8th Board of Education meeting and the July 6th special meeting

*Approved financial report

*Reviewed investment report

*Reviewed payroll, expenses, receipts and balances

*Accepted resignation of Kris Gold as bus driver.

*Approved a resolution to bid for the purchase of a school bus through EPC.

*Agreed to extend the DPL agreement with DPL Energy / EPC

*Approved a depository agreement with US Bank for 5 years - 8/24/11 to 8/23/16

*Hired the following substitute teachers for the 11-12 school year at the rate of $80 per day:

Abby Bushman

Sue Carter

Carolyn Jensvold

Dwight Schmeising

Whitney Rogers

Johnathan Braunstein

Kyle Borchers

Heather Thaman

Maria Dietz

Jennifer Skyock

Meghan Gehret

Ben Gates

*Approved changes to athletic handbook

*Approved bus routes for the 2011-12 school year as presented - they will be in the student handbooks

*Entered a program service agreement with Shelby Co. ESC for services rendered beginning August 1, 2011

*Approved participation in the Ohio School Comp for the 2012 Workers Compensation. Group rates program with an enrollment fee of $300

*Heard updates on the following:

Race to the Top

RttT Year 2 Scope of Work was approved by ODE

RttT team continues to work to prepare for the upcoming school year

Jeff (principal) and Connie (superintendent) attended the first day of OPES (Ohio Principal Evaluation System). Day 2 will be in August.

Gina Rogers will become a team member.

Botkins was one of the schools in conjunction with Shelby Co. Schools to receive a 3-year $250,000 annual stipend. With this award we will be able to continue our work with Project Achieve. Workshops with Dr. Howie Knouff have already been scheduled.

Our work with the curriculum crosswalks/alignment will take place August 9-12. All pertinent staff will participate.

On August 10, University of Cincinnati will be here to present the first of the continuing professional development on differentiated instruction.

The RttT team have selected teachers to begin the process of becoming trained for the Resident Educator Mentorship program. Jason Liette, Sybil Koenig, and Fred Schmerge will begin training this fall.

*We have completed all requirements for the Special Education review during the 2009-10 school year. We are now 100% compliant.

*The Shelby Co ESC teamed with Sidney City Schools to apply for a RttT innovation grant. We received as a group $250,000 per year for 3 years to continue the Project Achieve program.

*Discussed our Special Education determination for the 2010-11 school year we are 100% compliant.

*Preliminary report card dates shows we will receive an Excellent rating for a 26 of 26 on indicators.


Connie Schneider


Botkins Local School